Chhattisgarh Elections 2023: BJP’s dramatic comeback seals victory over Congress


In an extraordinary political turnaround, the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) clinched a stunning victory in the Chhattisgarh Assembly elections, securing 54 seats. The BJP’s comeback has dramatically shifted the state’s political landscape, unseating the incumbent Congress party, which managed only 35 seats in the 90-member assembly.

Congress Leader Bhupesh Baghel Resigns

Following the electoral defeat, Congress leader Bhupesh Baghel resigned from his position as Chief Minister. “I respect the mandate of the people. Congress will play a positive role in the opposition,” stated Baghel, reflecting on the party’s loss of power to the BJP.

See also  Heart-wrenching breakdown: BJP MP Locket Chatterjee sheds light on horrifying election allegations

Chhattisgarh’s Tribal Dominated Regions Swing to BJP

In a significant political shift, the tribal dominated divisions of Surguja and Bastar, crucial to Congress’s landslide victory in 2018, have now swung in favor of the BJP. The BJP’s victory in these areas, traditionally strongholds of Congress, marked a crucial factor in their overall win.

BJP Overthrows Congress in Chhattisgarh Polls: A Stunning Turnaround

BJP Overthrows Congress in Chhattisgarh Polls: A Stunning Turnaround

Analysis of the 2018 and 2023 Election Dynamics

The 2018 polls had witnessed the Congress winning all 14 seats in Surguja division and 11 out of 12 seats in Bastar division. This strong showing had enabled Congress to end the 15-year rule of the BJP in 2018. However, the 2023 election results have reversed this trend, with the BJP regaining control.

See also  Motherson Sumi Systems buys stake in aerospace machining firm CIM Tools

BJP’s Commanding Majority in Chhattisgarh

The BJP is now poised to form the government in Chhattisgarh, having achieved a commanding majority well past the halfway mark. This victory signifies a major shift in the state’s political dynamics and reflects the changing voter sentiments since the last assembly elections.

Share This


Wordpress (0)